Gerrit Noordzij Prize


The Gerrit Noordzij Prize is given to type designers and typographers for extraordinary contributions to the fields of type design, typography and type education. The prize is awarded every three years by the Royal Academy of Art in The Hague together with the Museum Meermanno and the Koninklijke Bibliotheek under the auspices of the Dr. P. A. Tiele Trust.

The prize is named after Gerrit Noordzij, who was a professor of typeface design at the Royal Academy of Art (a course founded by him). For the continuity of the prize, the Gerrit Noordzij Fund was created.

Laureates include Karel Martens (2012), Wim Crouwel (2009), Tobias Frere-Jones (2006), Erik Spiekermann (2003), Fred Smeijers (2001) and Gerrit Noordzij himself (1996)

Royal Academy of Art * Dr. P. A. Tiele Trust * Museum Meermanno * KB National Library of The Netherlands


2015: Cyrus Highsmith

Cyrus Highsmith

Cyrus Highsmith to receive the 2015 Gerrit Noordzij Prize on March 6, 2015, at the Royal Academy of Art in The Hague.

Dutch press release at . English press release to follow.


2012: Karel Martens


Wim Crouwel presents the 2012 Gerrit Noordzij Prize to Karel Martens.


A tumblr about the 2012 Gerrit Noordzij Prize. . Photos of the 2012 ceremony and preparations at flickr.

KABK press release on the 2012 GNp laureate Karel Martens.


2009: Wim Crouwel

In 2009 the 2006 GNp laureate Tobias Frere-Jones introduced the work of Wim Crouwel.

Tobias Frere-Jones on Wim Crouwel, Gerrit Noordzij Prize 2009 from Erik van Blokland on Vimeo.


Additional resources

Interview with Gerrit Noordzij for the TYPO conference, 2014. (German language, with German subtitles)

Gerrit Noordzij photos on flickr